Please turn on javascript in your browser to play chess.
www.chessatwork.com - Play Online Chess

Forgot it?

En Passant

En Passant

Chess At Work Help

[help]enpassant[/help]

Help Index

Add link to a message or forum post by using [help]faq[/help] as shown next to each question.

Pawn capture En Passant

Pawn capture En Passant
When a pawn tries to sneak past an enemy pawn to avoid capture, there's a move of which many beginners are often unaware.

Take a look at the accompanying diagram. A black pawn has advanced to its fifth rank. In the adjacent column, a white pawn, still on its initial square, is preparing to make a two-move jump to avoid capture.

However, the en passant rule prevents a pawn from avoiding capture by another pawn in this manner, and allows the black pawn to capture the white pawn exactly as if the white pawn had moved only one square.

This move can only be carried out on the move immediately following the white pawn's move.

Note that only another pawn may capture en passant, the move cannot be performed by any other piece.