1. Joined
    16 Jan '15
    Moves
    22 Jan '15 21:40
    Hello:

I am wondering if anyone has any suggestions for a software product that contains instruction on basic strategies. I am a beginner player and would like to get a bigger picture of the game.

Thanks!
  2. Joined
    18 Feb '10
    Moves
    22 Jan '15 22:48
    One for almost complete beginners is "Learn to Play Chess with Fritz and Chesster". I've heard good things about it, though I've never tried it myself.
  3. Joined
    16 Jan '15
    Moves
    22 Jan '15 22:54
    ok thanks
  4. Joined
    25 Jul '07
    Moves
    22 Jan '15 23:58
    Chessmaster has some nice tutorials and exercises.

Also chesstempo.com is good for tactics training.
  5. Joined
    16 Jan '15
    Moves
    23 Jan '15 17:31
    Thanks...appreciate it!
  6. Subscribervenda
    Dave
    S.Yorks.England
    Moves
    23 Jan '15 19:11
    Originally posted by Higgs
    Hello:

I am wondering if anyone has any suggestions for a software product that contains instruction on basic strategies. I am a beginner player and would like to get a bigger picture of the game.

Thanks!
    type "lecture with gm varuzhan akobian" into google.
    There's lot's of free you tube lectures in there from basic strategies to tactics
  7. Subscriber64squaresofpain
    The drunk knight
    Stuck on g1
    Moves
    23 Jan '15 19:45
    Originally posted by venda
    type "lecture with gm varuzhan akobian" into google.
    There's lot's of free you tube lectures in there from basic strategies to tactics
    And Yasser Seirawan also, I think they've both done lectures for the St. Louis chess club,
    they both speak in an easy to understand manner, and much of their content is for beginners-intermediate.

They have their own channel on Youtube so you can just explore and dig up whatever takes your fancy:
    https://www.youtube.com/user/STLChessClub/videos

This is a good place to start.